I am That Awkward Mom

You know the one. That mom that sits alone at her child’s practice, playing on her phone instead of chatting with the other moms. She’s always present for the activities, but never engaged with the other parents. She’s that awkward mom. I’m that awkward mom…

I’ve discovered that I’m not at all the kind of mom I thought I’d be. Before having kids, I imagined myself as a certain kind of mother. The Super Mommy. The kind that gets everything right. The PTA president, the carpool mom, the football booster club mom, the cheerleading team mom. The one who was always put together, makeup on, not a hair out of place.

My kids would go to my high school alma mater, where my son would be captain of the football team and my daughter would be a varsity cheerleader. We’d live in a big house on the lake and it would be where all the kids loved to hang out. We would host parties there for all of the parents we were such great friends with, etcetera, etcetera. Blah.
That is pretty much the exact opposite of how things have turned out!


I’m naturally introverted, which makes for some interesting challenges when navigating through the social aspect of parenthood. I’ve also discovered that I really just don’t care if I am put together. My hair is always a mess. I rarely wear makeup. As for carpool, my car barely holds the 3 kids we have. It turns out it’s outlandishly expensive to live on the lake and my kids will not be attending my old high school (they will however be attending my mother’s old high school). My son hates anything resembling a sport, unless you count mathletes. My daughter is an artist and wants nothing to do with cheerleading. We randomly decided to have a third child 10 years after I thought our family was complete. She is only 6 months old right now and by far the most challenging of the three. We have zero friends, aside from the ones we’ve had since we were kids. It is much harder to make new friends than I ever imagined! It’s funny how things work out!

20140806-142900-52140634.jpg
After thinking about starting a blog for years, I’m finally taking the plunge! I was hesitant because I worried what people would think. What if I suck at this? What if they don’t like me? I see it differently now. I’m doing it because I want to. I want to write about being a mom in an unrestricted, authentic and honest way.
I hope that people can relate to my posts and I hope people will enjoy the blog, but mostly I want to connect with others through shared experiences in parenting. To make it happen, I just need to put it all out there. Down and dirty. Nitty gritty. No holding back.

Here goes nothing! 🙂

I would love to hear your stories! It’s always good to know we are all in this motherhood thing together. It’s liberating to share the stuff we usually keep to ourselves, for fear of being judged by the mythical Super Mommy. This blog is 100% judge-free, and I’m definitely not Super Mommy. 🙂

If you are enjoying the blog so far, please share with your friends! Your support is appreciated! Plus, the more the merrier, right?!

Leave a Reply

